Weekly Photo Challenge: “Extra, Extra”

by Miki Kuwabara

This week, we are challenged to share a photo that has a little something extra…for example, an unexpected visitor, or a tranquil landscape with a splash of color.

While taking a stroll outside of a shopping center, I spotted 2 unexpected visitors who provided lovely splashes of color in a tranquil fountain area!

 

Extra, Extra!

Extra, Extra!

At first glance, Mr. & Mrs. Duck seem to be enjoying a nice swim. But upon closer inspection, I find something extra funny! Each duck is resting on a fountain head!

Resting my webbies.

Resting my webbies. 

Me too.

Me too.

About Miki Kuwabara

I am a freelance photographer who strives to reveal the hidden beauty in our world through compelling images. I was born in Japan, grew up in New York City, and moved to Southern California as an adult. I have enjoyed and participated in a variety of art forms since childhood and continue to do so daily. I strive to bring you photo art with heart!
This entry was posted in Animals, Art, Beauty, Birds, Funny, Humor, Life, Nature, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: “Extra, Extra”

  1. Jeff Sinon says:

    Silly me, I thought ducks could float. These must be a pair of the very rare lazy mallards. 🙂

  2. Mabel Kwong says:

    You’re right, and very sharp, to spot the duck standing on a fountain head. Maybe it didn’t want to get wet, or maybe it was feeling cold that day. Great close up shots of the duck. It’s usually hard to photograph animals as the are always moving spontaneously 🙂

    • Thank you Mabel! It was hilarious to see them standing on the fountain heads.
      As for the close-up shots, most animals don’t seem to be fearful around me. Usually, they just watch me take pictures of them.

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        It’s good animals aren’t afraid of you, so it’s easy for you to get shots of them. For me, the animals especially birds like to run the other way when I approach. I must look intimidating or something 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : In Between in Cape May, N.J. | I see beauty all around by rob paine

  4. Pingback: Duck Tour in Suburbia | I see beauty all around by rob paine

Leave a Reply

