Weekly Photo Challenge: Threes

by Miki Kuwabara

African Violets…to live or not to live, that is the question.

My African Violet plant was doing so well. Its velvety green leaves filled its pot and just looked super healthy. Every once in a while, I’d notice new leaves coming in and I’d smile. I was so content enjoying it just that way. I forgot it was supposed to be a flowering plant.
Then one day mid-January, while checking for new leaves, I did a double take when I noticed new growth that did not look like a leaf. “Are those little buds?” I wondered…excitement quickly building. “YES!!! And they are so cute!” I thought as I smiled a huge smile and beamed with pride at my lovely plant. (yup, I kinda like gardening)
I ran to grab my camera to capture the moment. I know, I know, I could’ve walked because the buds weren’t going anywhere anytime soon…but I was a little excited.

Part 1

Part 1

It took what seemed like an eternity (a few weeks) for the blossoming phase to begin. As you can see in the second photo, only one is in full bloom. The other looks kinda wilted, which worried me.

Part 2

Part 2

After about one week, which seemed like another eternity, I felt hopeful when I noticed the stem of the smaller bud straightening out. Once that happened, the petals began to unfurl.
Today, I was super happy  to see two vibrantly colored African Violet blossoms! Yay!

Part 3

Part 3

I hope you enjoyed my 3 part series!

Happy Gardening! 🙂

About Miki Kuwabara

I am a freelance photographer who strives to reveal the hidden beauty in our world through compelling images. I was born in Japan, grew up in New York City, and moved to Southern California as an adult. I have enjoyed and participated in a variety of art forms since childhood and continue to do so daily. I strive to bring you photo art with heart!
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Flowers, Gardening, Inspiring, Life, Nature, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Threes

  1. Gerry Charb says:

    Congratulations on your plants. I once did an interview with a lady whose entire house was filled with African violets. Neighbors called her the African Violet Lady and consulted her for advice when their own plants were having difficulty. Even though she had a house full of the plants she treated each one as an individual and rejoiced whenever her plants either blossomed or produced a new shoot. I can appreciate the joy you experienced with your own flowering plant.

  2. Flowers!! I can’t wait for the ones outside to begin growing again. But I’ll have to.

    janet

Leave a Reply

