Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

Natsukashii: Japanese for “feeling nostalgic” or “fond/sweet memory”.

As a child, I often heard my relatives say, “natsukashii ne” meaning, “nostalgic, isn’t it?” while reminiscing. At the time, I couldn’t relate because of my young age…but now that I’m older, I find myself looking back in a similar manner.
The following family photos taken in Japan are “natsukashii” for me.

obaachan

(left – right: my aunt, grandmother, me)
Happy memory of my grandmother (she’s in heaven now) proudly showing off a gift that I made for her. This photo was taken in the living room of her house in Kyoto.

Ojiichan

Ojiichan

Here I am (as a teenager) with my grandfather in a pottery studio located in the middle of the woods. He passed away not long afterwards. He was a talented artist and I like to think he is now creating beautiful art for God.

Okaasan

Okaasan

My beautiful mother & I enjoying a picnic together before we moved to America.

About Miki Kuwabara

I am a freelance photographer who strives to reveal the hidden beauty in our world through compelling images. I was born in Japan, grew up in New York City, and moved to Southern California as an adult. I have enjoyed and participated in a variety of art forms since childhood and continue to do so daily. I strive to bring you photo art with heart!
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Family, Inspiring, Japanese, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

  1. Sunshine says:

    i love the expression of your grandmother…aww, so cute. love the black and white collection. ♥

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic | Simply Charming

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia | Mike Hardisty Photography

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic | Thrifty Finn

  5. Pingback: Nostalgic for……………….. | Nostalgicbits

  6. Lovely B&W photos… lovely history to hold in your heart, too.

Leave a Reply

